REVIEWS

YOUR THOUGHTS

So I have come across a news feed today that there are indie authors who are paying for reviews. I myself have and never will do this but what are your thoughts on the matter? I know how much a review can help boost our sales whether we are indie or published by a big name, but as we are all too aware of there are also the trolls who just love to set out and destroy our reputations. It doesn’t matter what genre you write in it seems that there are authors fighting to be seen and aknowledged in their field and then there are authors fighting to keep the competition at bay. How did we find ourselves at this point?

I write because I love what my mind can produce and I want to share those stories with a like minded audience. I find that if I am not interested in a story then I simply won’t purchase it but if I do and I enjoyed it, well then I will write about it for others to gain insight. I have been asked to do a review on a book by fellow authors and I have given my honest opinion (no payment was ever offered or asked for)

I now find myself questioning the existing reviews when I check out a book and wonder if this is all a load of crap. But whilst there aren’t that many options being offered by the way we have our books on display for the world to take a sneak peek at I still have to trust the system. Thank god we have at least the choice of look inside on some sites.

 

About authorshiralynjlee

Author of lesbian erotica. I write a range of stories leading from romantic comedies and drama's with light sex scenes to darker erotica and BDSM. My work can be found on Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk I love to create stories and induce factual historic events within them.
This entry was posted in Media and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to REVIEWS

  1. An author, whether indie or mainstream published, should never pay for a review in my opinion. As soon as you pay for the review, the reviewer has lost all semblance of objectivity and I don’t think it will accurately reflect a true opinion of the book.

Leave a Reply

